Friday Bulletin & Diary Dates – 10th January 2020

10 January 2020

Dear Parents and Carers,

Happy New Year!

Welcome back to school after what I hope was a lovely Christmas break.

2020 promises to be an exciting year at Kells Lane Primary School. Our new nursery has now opened and the children have settled in remarkably quickly. I would like to take this opportunity to extend a very warm welcome to our new families.

We are hoping to begin our window replacement programme during the Easter holidays or shortly before. I will of course update you with more details as soon as I can. Please be assured any disruption will be kept to a minimum. This year will also see us continue with our Playground Project and Opal Outdoor Learning. If you have any unwanted resources, including any unwanted toys, I’m sure they would be gratefully received by the children.

I hope you have a lovely weekend.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs A Whistler

Headteacher

 

Wednesday 15th January 2020

·         Yoga Bugs in school for Year 1 (every Wednesday this term)

Thursday 16th January 2020

·         ‘500 Words’ Live Lesson for the 10th anniversary of the 500 words writing competition

·         Year 3 swimming (every Thursday until 2nd April 2020)

Friday 17th January 2020

·         Newcastle University students to work with Year 1

Tuesday 28th January 2020

·         Dukeshouse Wood meeting for Year 4 parents – starts at 5pm

Week beginning 3rd February 2020

·         Storytelling Week in school – more details coming soon

Wednesday 5th February 2020

·         Year 2 – Poplar class visit to Gateshead Heritage Centre

Friday 7th February 2020

·         Year 2 – Juniper class visit to Gateshead Heritage Centre

Friday 14th February 2020

·         Staff Development Day – school closed for pupils

Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February 2020 (inclusive)

·         Half term holiday

Monday 24th February 2020

·         Term begins again for pupils

Friday 28th February 2020

·         Year 4 visit to Captain Cook Museum

Monday 9th March 2020

·         Year 5 – Spruce class – visit to Newcastle University

Tuesday 10th March 2020

·         Year 4 working with Chris Connaughton – Robinson Crusoe

·         Class photographs for Reception, Year 2 and Year 6 classes

Wednesday 11th March 2020

·         Year 6 working with Chris Connaughton – Young Hamlet

Monday 16th March 2020

·         Year 5 – Larch class – visit to Newcastle University

Monday 16th March – Wednesday 18th March 2020

·         Parents’ evenings – booking details coming soon

Wednesday 25th March – Friday 27th March 2020

·         Year 4 residential visit to Dukeshouse Wood

Thursday 26th March 2020

·         Reception classes visit to Hall Hill Farm

Friday 3rd April 2020

·         Last day of spring term

Monday 6th April – Friday 17th April 2020 (inclusive)

·         Easter holidays

Monday 20th April 2020

·         Summer term begins