Friday Bulletin & Diary Dates – 28th September 2018

28 September 2018

Dear Parents and Carers,

As the fourth week of term comes to an end, I would like to celebrate some fantastic news with you.

The children’s behaviour in lessons is exemplary and has been commented on by many visitors over the years. At the start of this academic year, I asked the children to make a special effort to extend this excellent behaviour and conduct to the school playground and when moving around school, particularly on the stairs. I am delighted to tell you they have really embraced the challenge and I am very impressed by the immediate improvement.

At Kells Lane, we strongly believe that good behaviour is a prerequisite for effective learning and personal development. It enables achievement and personal growth.

Here are just a few of the behaviours our children have identified as really important in our school:

  • Following adults’ instructions promptly and without remark
  • Following the classroom rules
  • Honesty
  • Kindness to others
  • Politeness
  • Protecting the good reputation of the school
  • Standing against bullying or disruption

 

Please CLICK HERE if you would like to read the Kells Lane Behaviour Policy in full.

I am very proud of all our children for upholding such a strong moral purpose.

Have a lovely weekend.

 

Yours sincerely,

 Mrs A Whistler

Headteacher

Monday 8th  – Friday 12th October

  • Science Week
Friday 12th October

  • Year 3 Roman Day
Wednesday 17th October 2018

  • Year 1 Harvest Assembly – parents welcome to attend – starts 2.30 pm
Thursday 18th October 2018

  • Year 2 Harvest Assembly – parents welcome to attend – starts at 2.30 pm
Friday 19th October 2018

  • Non uniform day in aid of our playground project
  • Early Years Harvest Assembly – parents welcome to attend – starts at 2.45 pm

 

Monday 22nd – Friday 26th October (inclusive)

  • Half Term
Monday 29th /Tuesday 30th October 2018

  • Young Enterprise Hallowe’en Sale (items from 50p)
Wednesday 31st October 2018

  • Year 1 on Castle and Keep visit
  • Year 6 working with ‘Technology Tom’
Friday 2nd November 2018

  • Year 3 visit to Arbeia
Tuesday 6th November 2018

  • Year 4 visit to Great North Museum (Hancock)
Monday 12th – Friday 16th November 2018

  • Anti-bulling week
Monday 12th/Tuesday 13th/Wednesday 14th November 2018

  • Parents’ evenings
Thursday 15th November 2018

  • Reception Classes on visit to Seven Stories
Friday 16th November 2018

  • Children in Need (more details to follow)
Saturday 17th November 2018

  • KLSF (fundraising team) Christmas shopping trip to York
Thursday 29th November 2018

  • Open afternoon for new entrants (September 2019)
Monday 3rd December 2018

  • Flu nasal spray vaccination
Thursday 6th December

  • Last swimming session for Year 3
Friday 7th December 2018

  • School Christmas Fair
Monday 10th December 2018

  • Christmas disco
Wednesday 12th December 2018

  • Christmas Film Club after school
Monday 10th – Thursday 13th December 2018

  • Year group Christmas parties
Friday 14th December 2018

  • Whole school visit to pantomime
Week beginning Monday 17th December 2018

  • Christmas Concert by pupils having music lessons in school – parents welcome – more details to follow
Monday 17th December 2018

  • Year 6 WW2 Street Party
Wednesday 19th December 2018

  • Years 1, 2 and 3 visiting St. Helen’s Church for a carol service (morning)
  • Years 4, 5 and 6 visiting St. Helen’s Church for a carol service (late morning)

PLEASE NOTE – due to a change of venue, we are unable to invite parents to our carol services this year. We apologise for any disappointment.

Thursday 20th December 2018 – Last day of term for pupils

  • Christmas Jumper Day (Save the Children)
  • Christmas dinner in school
Friday 21st December 2018 – INSET day – NO PUPILS IN SCHOOL TODAY
Monday 7th January 2019 – First day of new term for pupils