Friday Bulletin & Diary Dates – 6th September 2019

6 September 2019

Dear Parents and Carers,

Welcome back to school after what I hope was an enjoyable summer break. I hope you managed to get some relaxation and quality time with your children.

It’s wonderful to see our children looking so energised and keen to get back to school. In fact, I am beginning to wonder if there is some sort of competition going on regarding who is the first in the school building each morning! It really is great to see such enthusiasm.

This will be another busy and exciting year at Kells Lane. I have been given the news that, subject to expected funding, Kells Lane will receive a full window replacement scheme during this coming year. I will of course write to you as soon as I have definite details and timescales. In the meantime, please be assured there will be minimal disruption to school life as the majority of work will be scheduled for school holidays.

All the best of luck to any of you running the 2019 Great North Run this Sunday. I hope the weather is kind!

Have a great weekend.

 

Yours sincerely,

Mrs A Whistler

Headteacher

 

Wednesday 18th September 2019

·         Year 6 Visit to Beamish

·         STEM workshop for Year 2 (in school)

Thursday 19th September

·         Year 5 first swimming session (both classes)

Monday 23rd September 2019

·         Year 1 visit to Kells Lane Park

Thursday 26th September 2019

·         Rabbi Glickman visiting Year 4

Friday 27th September 2019

·         The World’s Biggest Coffee Morning – This year the children will be baking cakes and various other sweet treats in school to raise money for Macmillan Cancer Support, in memory of our dear friend and colleague Mrs LeMarquand.

Week beginning 30th September 2019

·         Book Bus visiting school (will be open before and after school)

Tuesday 1st & Wednesday 2nd October 2019

·         Year 5 visit to Durham University

Monday 7th, Tuesday 8th and Wednesday 9th October 2019

·         Parents’ evening – Reception to Year 6 – booking information coming soon

Friday 18th October 2019

·         Last day of this half term

·         Non-uniform day in aid of our playground project

Monday 21st – Friday 25th October 2019 inclusive

·         October half term

Wednesday 30th October 2019

·         Year 1 visit to Castle and Keep

·         Technology Tom visiting Year 6

Friday 1st November 2019

·         Year 3 visit to Arbeia

Tuesday 5th November 2019

·         Year 4 visit to Hancock Museum

·         Reception class visit to Seven Stories (class to be confirmed)

Thursday 7th November 2019

·         Reception class visit to Seven Stories (class to be confirmed)

Week beginning 11th November 2019

·         Anti-bullying Week

Friday 15th November 2019

·         Children in Need

Monday 16th December 2019

·         WW11 Street Party in Year 6

Wednesday 18th December 2019

·         Whole school visit to pantomime – Cinderella at Gateshead Stadium (9- 12)

Thursday 19th December 2019

·         Last day of term for pupils ( non-uniform day)