Friday Bulletin & Diary Dates – 8th February 2019

8 February 2019

Dear Parents and Carers,

We celebrated Safer Internet Day this week. The theme for this year’s Safer Internet Day was ‘Together for a better internet’. It was essentially a reminder that everyone can play their part in making the internet a better place to be.

Developing empathy and understanding, and the ability to communicate clearly and think before they post, are crucial skills for children. You may wish to support this and other e-safety skills at home too. If you would like more guidance or free resources to use with your child, please follow the link below for more information. It is packed with important safety information and expert advice on issues such as healthy screen time and sleep, with content relating from Key Stage 1 to Key Stage 4.

Just some of the issues covered include:

  • Managing children’s sleep and setting digital boundaries
  • How children can enjoy a safer start on social media
  • Better family communication around tech
  • Expert advice on gaming addiction, self-harm and virtual reality
  • Creating a better family digital-life balance… and lots more

There are several other free resources available which you can access here.

Have a great weekend.

Mrs A Whistler

Headteacher

 

Monday 11th February – Friday 15th February 2019

·         Health and Wellbeing Week

Friday 15th February

·         Non uniform day in aid of our Playground Project

Monday 18th February – Friday 22nd February 2019 inclusive

·         Half term holiday

Tuesday 26th February 2019

·         Year 6 SATS information evening for parents – starts at 5 pm

Wednesday 27th February 2019

·         Planetarium visit for Year 1 (in school)

Monday 4th March, Tuesday 5th March & Thursday 7th March 2019

·         Holly class and Cedar class parents’ evenings

Monday 4th March 2019

·         Year 5 visit to The Sill

Tuesday 5th March 2019

·         Year 5 (Larch class) Play in a Day ‘Space’ – parents welcome to attend a performance at 2.45 pm

Wednesday 6th March 2019

·         Year 5 (Spruce class) Play in a Day ‘Space’ – parents welcome to attend a performance at 2.45 pm

Friday 8th March 2019

·         World Book Day

Tuesday 12th March – Thursday 14th March 2019 (inclusive)

·         Parents’ evenings

Friday 15th March 2019

·         Red Nose Day

Wednesday 20th March 2019

·         Year 5 Spring Assembly for parents (2.45 pm start)

Thursday 21st March 2019

·         Year 3 Spring Assembly for parents (2.45 pm start)

Friday 22nd  March 2019

·         Year 4 Spring Assembly for parents (2.45 pm start)

Monday 25th March 2019

·         Book Fair in school this week

Tuesday 26th March 2019

·         Reception classes visit to Hall Hill Farm

Wednesday 27th March 2019

·         Chris Connaughton to work with Year 6 – Young Hamlet

Wednesday 27th March – Friday 29th March 2019

·         Year 4 residential visit to Dukeshouse Wood

Thursday 28th March 2019

·         Class photographs for Reception, Year 2 and Year 6

Monday 1st April 2019

·         Year 3 visit to Durham University (Willow class)

·         Year 5 working with Dr Bike

Tuesday 2nd April 2019

·         Year 3 visit to Durham University (Maple class)

·         Year 5 working with Dr Bike

Thursday 4th April 2019

·         Easter Egg making in school

Friday 5th April 2019

·         Non uniform day in school

·         Last day of term – school finishes at normal time

Monday 8th April – Monday 22nd April 2019 (inclusive)

·         School closed for Easter holidays

Tuesday 23rd April 2019

·         First day of summer term