Friday Bulletin – 15th September 2017

15 September 2017

Dear Parents and Carers,

I am delighted to inform you that the judges of this year’s Speaker’s School Council Awards have selected our school council’s playground project as highly commended. This year, the competition received hundreds of entries which makes receiving this special recognition from the judges even more exceptional.

To celebrate our children’s achievement we have been awarded a digital badge which you can see at the bottom of our school website pages. Our school council received a special message of thanks for participating in the competition from the Speaker of the House of Commons, the Rt. Hon John Bercow and the Speaker’s School Council Awards team.

 

We are very proud of our school councillors for participating in the competition and for all the hard work that has helped the project come to life. As many of you know, there were several fundraising events for our project towards the end of the last academic year. Plans are afoot to launch a whole school design competition and to start work on our play areas very soon. Watch this space!

award

Have a great weekend.

 

Yours sincerely,

Mrs A Whistler

Headteacher

 

Dates for your diary for the coming weeks:

Monday 18th September

  •  ‘Talk like a pirate day’ in Year 2
  • Reminder that clubs start again this week
Wednesday 20th September

  • Spruce class visiting Shipley Gallery
  • Basketball coach working with Year 3
Friday 22nd September

  • Year 3  visit to Arbeia Roman Fort and Museum
Monday 25th September

  • Year 1 visit to Jurassic Kingdom
Tuesday 26th September

  • Rabbi Glickman visiting Year 4
Monday 2nd October – Thursday 5th October

  • Scholastic Book Fair after school
Saturday 7th October

  • Kells Lane Food Market 10am – 3pm
Monday 9th October

  • Year 5 Fire Safety Workshop
Friday 13th October

  • Year 3 Roman Day
Friday 20th October

  • Last day of this half term
Monday 30th October

STAFF INSET DAY  – NO PUPILS IN SCHOOL TODAY

Tuesday 31st October

  • Term begins for pupils