Friday Bulletin – 18th May 2018

18 May 2018

Dear Parents and Carers,

It’s been a very busy week at Kells Lane. Our Year 6 children have worked incredibly hard and sustained the most amazing concentration and resilience during their SATs this week. We couldn’t have asked for more from our children; we are extremely proud of them. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mrs King and Mrs Anderson-Harrison for all their hard work too. I would also like to thank all the parents of children in Year 6 for your support over the years. I hope you all enjoy a well-deserved ‘SAT free’ break this weekend.

As many of you are aware, our playground project started with a bang this week and our ‘Hobbit House’ is coming along nicely. Please see below for an artist’s impression of what it will look like next week. Once again, thank you to all parents, grandparents and community members for contributing to our fundraising events and helping us to raise funds towards this project. Clearly, we have made a very positive start but we are ambitious and have plans for even bigger and better developments in the future. We are determined to make our outdoor learning environment as rich as our indoor.

Good luck to everyone taking part in the Children’s Cancer Run at Newcastle Racecourse this Sunday. I hope the sun is shining!

Have a lovely weekend.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs A Whistler

Headteacher

 

img_3039

Dates for your diary:

Tuesday 22nd May 2018

  • Year 5 visit to Bowes Museum
Friday 25th May 2018

  • Non uniform day in school (£1 donation for our playground project would be greatly appreciated)
Monday 28th May – Friday 1st June 2018 (inclusive)

  • Half term holiday
Monday 4th June 2018

  • World of Work Week in school
Monday 11th June – Thursday 14th June 2018

  • Year 6 residential to North Wales
Friday 15th June 2018

  • Year 2 visit to Hamsterley Forest
Tuesday 19th June 2018

  • ‘ZooLab’ visiting Early Years
Thursday 21st June 2018

  • Early Years visit to Wallington Hall
Saturday 30th June 2018

  • Transition Day – visit your child’s class teacher for September
Friday 6th July

  • Kells Lane String Orchestra Summer Concert – 2pm start
  • Summer Fair (3pm – 4.30pm)
Monday 9th July 2018

  • KLSF school disco
  • Health and Wellbeing Week in school
Friday 13th July 2018

  • Sports Day at Joseph Swan Academy (Years 3 – 6 in the morning, Early Years and Years 1 and 2 in the afternoon – all parents welcome)
Thursday 19th July 2018

  • Last day of term