Friday Bulletin – 4th May 2018

4 May 2018

Dear Parents and Carers,

New research published this week has revealed that 1 in 4 young people have been contacted over social media by an adult they don’t know. Alarmingly, a third of these children are under 13 years old.

You may have seen some information released from the NSPCC this week about the game ‘Fortnite’. The warning comes after research by the charity suggested 25% of children had been contacted online by strangers. It advised parents to turn off the voice chat system in the game to ensure children avoided inappropriate contact. But the charity warned that the text messaging system in the game could not be disabled. Options in the main settings menu in Fortnite do not let players block text messages sent to them.

The NSPCC said parents should:

  • let children know they could talk to them if upset or worried by anything they had seen online
  • familiarise themselves with what their children did online and understand why they liked particular apps or games
  • agree family rules on how to use apps, sites and games
  • use privacy settings and parental controls to keep children safe

Please do get in touch if you have any concerns you would like to discuss further.

As many of you are already aware, two new members of the Kells Lane family arrived this week. Early Years had a special delivery of two rabbits on Monday, they have settled in very well and the children are taking great care of them. Mrs Swinbank has launched a school-wide competition to name the rabbits at 50p a go. All proceeds will go towards their upkeep and will hopefully keep them in carrots for a considerable time to come. Thank you for your support and good luck to all who enter!

The weather forecast for the bank holiday weekend is looking good. Fingers crossed we can all enjoy being outside in the sunshine.

I hope you enjoy your long weekend.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs A Whistler

Headteacher

Dates for your diary:

Monday 7th May 2018

  • Bank Holiday Monday – school closed
Tuesday 8th May 2018

  • ‘Play in a Day’ for Rowan class – parents welcome to attend a performance at 2.45 pm
Wednesday 9th May 2018

  • ‘Play in a Day’ for Beech class – parents welcome to attend a performance at 2.45pm
Monday 14th May – Friday 18th May 2018

  • Year 6 SATS week
Friday 18th May 2018

  • Royal Wedding Garden Party in school (11.30 – 1)
Tuesday 22nd May 2018

  • Year 5 visit to Bowes Museum
Friday 25th May 2018

  • Non uniform day in school (£1 donation for our playground project would be greatly appreciated)
Monday 28th May – Friday 1st June 2018 (inclusive)

  • Half term holiday
Wednesday 6th June 2018

  • Year 2 visit to Hamsterley Forest

Monday 4th – Friday 8th June 2018

  • World of Work Week in school
Monday 11th June – Thursday 14th June 2018

  • Year 6 residential to North Wales
Tuesday 19th June 2018

  • ‘ZooLab’ visiting Early Years
  • Parents of new entrants visiting school (5 pm start)
Thursday 21st June 2018

  • Early Years visit to Wallington Hall
Saturday 30th June 2018

  • Transition Day – visit your child’s class teacher for September
Friday 6th July

  • Summer Fair (3 pm – 4.30 pm)
Monday 9th July 2018

  • KLSF school disco
  • Health and Well-being Week in school
Friday 13th July 2018

  • Sports Day at Joseph Swan Academy (Years 3 – 6 in the morning, Early Years and Years 1 and 2 in the afternoon – all parents welcome)
Thursday 19th July 2018

  • Last day of term